Subject: IAGR Annual Business Meeting

September 7, 2012

Dear IAGR Member:

Building on the success of the 2011 IAGR Conference held in Cape Town, South Africa, the IAGR Board of Trustees is continuing its work to establish IAGR as the world’s premier gaming regulatory association. Important to those efforts will be your participation in this year’s annual business meeting which will be held in conjunction with the 2012 IAGR Conference in October. In preparation for the meeting, please review the information below, including details regarding the meeting agenda and nominating procedures for the 2012/2013 Board of Trustees and Office Holders.

Annual Meeting 2012

At the upcoming IAGR Annual Meeting scheduled for Tuesday, 23 October 2012 in Singapore, the Board of Trustees will seek your approval on several agenda items, including those listed below:

a. Amendments to IAGR bylaws
b. Appointment of Auditor/Accountant
c. IAGR Financial statement and Audit Report
d. IAGR Board of Trustees
e. IAGR Office Holders for 2012/2013
  • President
  • Vice President
  • Treasurer
During the IAGR annual meeting, I will also be introducing a new IAGR Secretary who will take over for James Chan, Singapore. James has been an extraordinary asset to the association since joining us as Secretary in October 2010.

For more information on the business meeting agenda, please refer to the draft meeting agenda which is marked as Annex A attached to this email.

Board of Trustees and Office Holders (nominated by Board of Trustees)

The IAGR bylaws state that “Each member of the Board of Trustees is elected for a three (3) year term and is eligible to be re-elected for a second and final three (3) year term.” The following members, who were elected during the annual meeting held in Cape Town on 26 October 2011 will continue their terms of office as IAGR Trustees up to October 2014:

(a) Susan Hensel – Pennsylvania, USA
(b) Michael Sarquis – Queensland, Australia
(c) Mark Lipparelli – Nevada, USA
(d) Serobi Maja – South Africa
(e) Kathleen McDonald – Antigua and Barbuda
(f) Atle Hamar – Norway
(g) Jenny Williams – Great Britain
(h) Lau Peet Meng – Singapore
(i) Birgitte Sand – Denmark

Andre Wilsenach who has served IAGR tirelessly as a former Steering Committee Chair and member and IAGR Trustee will, however, be standing down as a Trustee after the October 2012 conference. On behalf of all members, we thank Andre for his invaluable contributions to the IAGR.

The Board is now seeking to fill three Board of Trustees positions. The IAGR bylaws state that “Nominations of new members to the Board of Trustees and for Vice President and Treasurer may be made by the current members of the Board of Trustees or by any other Ordinary Member.” As provided for by the bylaws, the Board of Trustees hereby nominates the following two members, to serve as Trustees for a three year term commencing in October 2012 and ending in October 2015.

(a) Dale Fuga, Chief Operating Officer, Manitoba Gaming Control Commission
(b) Joseph Borg, Chief Regulatory Officer, Malta Lotteries and Gaming Authority

As you will recall, Dale and Joseph were elected to the Board of Trustees earlier this year to fulfill vacancies on the Board. The current term of office for Dale and Joseph (January 2012 to October 2012) will not be counted towards the three year term. While appointments for less than a 3 year term through an election by the members is not specifically dealt with in the bylaws, Section 6.12(3) deals with temporary appointments made by the Board of Trustees and provides that such appointments do not count as time served towards a 3 year term. Both Dale and Joseph are active members of the Board serving on multiple subcommittees including the Governance, Conference Program and Communications subcommittees.

On the office holders for 2012/2013, current Vice President IAGR Mike Sarquis has indicated that he will not be able to serve as President for 2012/2013. In light of this development and in order to provide seamless leadership continuity, the Board of Trustees has nominated me to stay on as President for an additional year. The Board of Trustees hereby nominates the following members to assume the posts of President, Vice-President and Treasurer:

(a) Susan Hensel, Director of Licensing for the Pennsylvania Gaming Control Board and current President, IAGR – nominated as President for 2012/2013;

(b) Lau Peet Meng, Chief Executive, Casino Regulatory Authority of Singapore – nominated as Vice President for 2012/2013 and as President for 2013/2014; and

(c) Mark Lipparelli, Chairman, Nevada Gaming Control Board and current Treasurer, IAGR ­– nominated as Treasurer for 2012/2013.

On behalf of all members, we thank Mike for his leadership and contributions as Vice President of IAGR over the past year.

Board of Trustees and Office Holders (nominations from Membership)

If any Ordinary Member wishes to nominate any Ordinary member to the Board of Trustees and/or for the posts of Vice President and Treasurer, please fill out the Nomination Form attached at Annex B, and email it to Secretary James Chan at no later than Saturday, 22 September 2012.

Jurisdictional Vote - Proxy / Jurisdictional Representative

The Agenda Items listed at paragraph 2 above will be decided by Jurisdictional Votes. If any jurisdictional member is unable to attend the meeting but wishes to vote by proxy, please submit your proxy votes in writing to Secretary James Chan no later than 11.30a.m., 21 October 2012 (Singapore time).

The IAGR bylaws also state that “Each Jurisdictional member may designate another Ordinary Member to exercise the Jurisdictional Vote; or designate another Ordinary Member from that Jurisdiction to be the Jurisdictional Representative.” Please provide any such designations in writing to Secretary James Chan, with copies to Ordinary Members in that jurisdiction, no later than 11.30a.m., 21 October 2012 (Singapore time).

Meeting materials and Contact information

The relevant materials for the Annual Meeting will be posted in the IAGR members-only portal and we urge members to review the materials before the meeting. If you have any clarifications, please feel free to email me at If you have not received a password to the portal or if you have any difficulty in accessing the portal, please email

On behalf of the Board of Trustees, I look forward to meeting you in Singapore for our annual conference and meeting.

Susan Hensel
President, IAGR