Subject: IAGR Announcement of New Trustees

Dear Members,

In reference to the IAGR Board’s call for nominations where the IAGR Board of Trustees announced four available positions plus three Trustees seeking re-election for their positions, by nomination deadline of Wednesday, September 28, the IAGR Secretary had received five nominations.

As the number of nominees is fewer than the number of vacancies, the nominees are automatically confirmed as members of the Board of Trustees as of November 1st (Election date, ref. call for nomination). An election process involving IAGR members will therefore not be necessary.

Their service term will take effect with the Annual Meeting held in conjunction with the Sydney 2016 Conference.

New Trustees
Trude Felde
Senior Advisor
Norwegian Gaming & Foundation Authority

Trude Hogseth Felde works for the Norwegian Gaming and Foundation Authority. She has a Master degree in Law, and has worked for the Norwegian Gaming and Foundation Authority since August 2001. Her special area is regulation of the Norwegian market, Internet gaming, EU gambling regulation and social gaming/gambling.

Reuben Mabutho Zwane
Chief Executive Officer
Eastern Cape Gambling and Betting Board

Mabutho Zwane was appointed to the position of the Chief Executive Officer by the Eastern Cape Gambling and Betting Board (ECGBB) in December 2009. He is responsible for providing strategic direction and leadership to the Board and advising the Board on all gambling related matters. Having joined the ECGBB in 2003, he has over 13 years in gambling regulation with a particular focus on audit and compliance.
Mabutho is a graduate of the University of Technology in Durban, KwaZulu Natal, and finished the Executive Development Programme at the University of Nevada, Reno, USA in 2007. He is currently busy with Masters Degree in Business Administration at the Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University in Port Elizabeth.
Trustees Serving Second & Final Term
Blair Cairncross
Executive Director
New Zealand Gambling Commission

Blair Cairncross is the Executive Director of the New Zealand Gambling Commission, a role that he has held since December 2007.  Prior to this, he was the Senior Legal Advisor to the Gambling Commission.

Previously Mr. Cairncross was a lawyer in private practice having worked in New Zealand and the United Kingdom in the areas of civil and commercial litigation.

Mr. Cairncross has a BA and LLB from the University of Waikato in New Zealand.

David Rebuck
New Jersey Division of Gaming Enforcement

David L. Rebuck was nominated by Governor Chris Christie on April 29, 2011 to be the Director of the New Jersey Division of Gaming Enforcement, the casino regulatory agency within the Department of Law and Public Safety.

Rebuck was appointed as Assistant Attorney General on May 9, 2011 by Attorney General Paula Dow.  Rebuck was confirmed by the New Jersey Senate on January 9, 2012.  He was officially sworn in on January 24, 2012.

Rebuck has served as an attorney for 23 years as a Deputy Attorney General for the State of New Jersey and specializes in policy guidance and regulatory reform.  He was assigned to the Governor’s Office as a Senior Policy Advisor to Governor Christie in February 2010 and assisted in the Governor’s initiative to reinvigorate Atlantic City and participated in overseeing regulatory reform efforts as a member of Governor Christie’s Red Tape Review Group.

Rebuck joined the Department of Law & Public Safety in January 1988 as a Deputy Attorney General.  He was instrumental in providing legal advice in the review of programs and operations within the department and assisted in the evaluation of the performance of various agencies in accomplishing their mandated governmental role and in the development and implementation of corrective action.

Rebuck earned a bachelor’s degree from Gettysburg College in 1974.  He earned a master’s degree in higher education administration from the University of Vermont in 1978, and earned his law degree from Delaware Law School of Widener University in 1986.  Rebuck was Associate Dean of Student Life at Ursinus College from 1978 through 1986, and was Assistant to the President of Radford University from 1986 through 1988.

He is a member of the Pennsylvania and New Jersey Bar.

Birgitte Sand
Danish Gambling Authority

Birgitte Sand is Director of the Danish Gambling Authority. She took up her current position after several years of work as a member of the Executive Board of the Copenhagen Tax Center.

Birgitte Sand holds a master’s degree in Law from the University of Copenhagen; 1985.  She started her career in the Danish court of Taxation and moved on to a wide range of different tasks and management positions in the Ministry of Taxation covering legal advice on corporate tax structures and tax on private companies and property, the central IT department and projects regarding leadership, innovation, strategy, change of organizational structures and the development of a nationwide IT salary system. She was for many years also a member of the Board covering the nationwide planning of tax compliance projects.

Since late 2011 Birgitte Sand has been a member of the International Association of Gaming Regulators (IAGR) Board of Trustees and chair of the IAGR Membership Subcommittee; she has served as Vice President of the association since October 2013 and served as IAGR President until October 2015.
We appreciate the willingness of these individuals to commit their time to lead IAGR over the next few years.  And I look forward to introducing them to our members at the Sydney 2016 Conference! 

My best regards,

Bheki Mlambo
IAGR President
On behalf of the IAGR Board of Trustees
International Association of Gaming Regulators, 7881 W. Charleston Blvd., Ste. 155, Las Vegas, NV 89117, United States
You may unsubscribe or change your contact details at any time.