Subject: RELEASE: TAGA Names 2019 Michael H. Bruno Award Recipients

View this email online if it doesn't display correctly

April 4, 2019
Media Contact: Jenn Strang,
Program Contact: Jim Workman,

TAGA Names 2019 Michael H. Bruno Award Recipients
Pittsburgh, PA—Dr. Juanita Parris, Global Director of R&D for Material and Analytical Science of Sun Chemical; retiree Dr. Don Duncan of Wikoff Color; and Mike Scrutton, Director of Print Technology and Strategy of Adobe, have been named the 2019 TAGA Michael H. Bruno Award recipients by Printing Industries of America. The award is given by the Technical Association of the Graphic Arts (TAGA) to print professionals with distinguished careers in appreciation of their contributions to the advancement of the graphic arts.
Dr. Juanita Parris (pictured left) manages a diversified group with laboratories in the U.S. and Europe. Under her leadership, the Polymer Team develops novel materials that are formulated into inks and coatings. Juanita holds a PhD in physical and polymer chemistry from McGill University in Montreal, Canada. She furthered the understanding of the crystal structure of a superionic complex and its phase transitions, which is the highest performance fluoride ion conductor that could be used in a hydrogen fuel cell, potentially powering electric cars.

Juanita served as a member of the TAGA Board from 1996 to 2002, was the new program committee Chair, and is currently the President of NPIRI. Juanita is a past presenter at TAGA conferences, with topics including the use of Atomic Force Microscopy in the Graphic Arts (1995), Gravure Cylinder Banding (1996), and Optimizing UV Ink Lay (1997). She holds 13 published and granted patents.

Dr. Don Duncan (pictured left) is a native Texan and received his PhD in organic chemistry from MIT in 1978. Don joined Wikoff Color Corporation, a multinational manufacturer of printing inks, as Director of Research. There, he managed an 18-person product development group creating printing inks and graphic arts coatings for lithography, flexography, gravure, and inkjet using UV, EB, water-based, solvent-based, and oil-based technologies.

During his time with Wikoff, he twice served on the board of directors for RadTech North America and was the president of RadTech from 2012-2014. He also served on the TAGA Board of Directors and was the president of TAGA for the same two-year period (the only person to serve as president of both organizations at all, much less at the same time). Don travels around the world to speak at industry association meetings and is known to have a thorough understanding of most printing ink technologies as well as being able to explain complex concepts clearly.

Mike Scrutton (pictured left) currently leads initiatives for the design and manufacture of fabrics for fashion and furnishing as well as workflows enabling on-demand printing and manufacturing for Adobe. When joining Adobe, Mike led teams developing solutions for printing OEMs, including both desktop and industrial manufacturers. His first patent was awarded for a color calibration technique for inkjet printers in 1999.

Mike’s work in print workflows at Adobe expanded to include responsibility for end-to-end designer-to-printing solutions, including the early support of JDF in Adobe InDesign and Acrobat enabling design, review, and printing of jobs controlled by JDF. 

Mike’s work at Adobe continues to involve a focus on end-to-end workflows from design to print. His work has evolved to include responsibility for new digital manufacturing technologies, including 3D and textile printing, as well as printing from mobile devices. He represents Adobe speaking at industry shows and conferences, including recently at FESPA, SGIA, AATCC and PIA, and serves as Chair of the Steering Committee for the Mopria Alliance, developing standards and solutions for mobile printing.

Please join Printing Industries of America and TAGA in congratulating the recipients on this honor and to acknowledge their exemplary careers. More information on the TAGA Michael H. Bruno Award can be found at

About TAGA
The Technical Association of the Graphic Arts (TAGA) is an international organization of technologists, scientists, and technical and production personnel in the printing and allied industries, as well as students in accredited graphic arts programs. It was established in 1948 as a forum for reporting on new research and technology in the graphic arts. It has a long history of distinguished annual conferences at which technical papers on graphic arts subjects are presented.

301 Brush Creek, Warrendale, PA 15086, United States
You may unsubscribe or change your contact details at any time.