Subject: Meet Our New Equity Champions

View this email online if it doesn't display correctly
We are thrilled to announce that the initial 13 appointees have been selected for the City of Seattle’s new Community Involvement Commission (CIC). The CIC will ultimately be comprised of 16 equity champions who will work to ensure that our City departments are creating and implementing equitable engagement strategies that lead to more relevant and impactful public participation. They will also provide feedback on the development of City departments’ community involvement plans.

After receiving nearly 300 individual applications this past February, the field was narrowed to these 13 CIC positions recently appointed by the Mayor and City Council – six selected by the Mayor and seven by City Council (by Council District). One additional Mayoral appointee will be selected through the Get Engaged program, and CIC members will nominate individuals to fill the two remaining positions later this year. All the appointments are subject to City Council confirmation.

Below is a list of the newly appointed members.

Mayor Appointees:
Julie Pham
Alex Hudson
Bereket Kiros
Sonja Basha
Emily Kim
Jenna Franklin

City Council Appointees:
District 1: Jennifer Calleja
District 2: Thais Marbles
District 3: Natalie Curtis
District 4: Alison Turner
District 5: Mark Mendez
District 6: Ben Mitchell
District 7: Patricia Akiyama

Keep an eye on our blog in the coming weeks as we will be featuring individual profiles of each of the appointees.

Learn more about the Community Involvement Commission on our website.

Street: 600 4th Avenue, 4th Floor; Seattle, WA 98104
PO Box 94649; Seattle, WA 98124-4649
Phone: 206-684-0464      Fax: 206-233-5142

Seattle Department of Neighborhoods, PO Box 94649, Seattle, WA 98124, United States
You may unsubscribe or change your contact details at any time.