Subject: Best indie books for this week

We are delighted to recommend the following books from the independent publishing sector.
LibraryBub Books April 19
Reframe Your Viewpoints: harness stress and anxiety — transform it into peace and confidence
by Virginia Ritterbusch

This book is a learning guide that helps people to understand their fears and teaches them the power of linguistics in establishing new and lasting neural pathways to enable clear decision-making. The author explores ways of harnessing run-away emotions and thoughts in order to advance to a peaceful place.

Reframe Your Viewpoints is based on the proven and professionally accepted technique of reframing that immediately turns problems into opportunities. By combining the key tool of reframing with the eight other strategies presented in the book, people will be able to build a comprehensive plan to free themselves from the stress and anxiety of daily life.

A well-written, scholarly book with meaty exercises and lots of examples to add interest and clarity — Goodreads

Honors: seen on NBC, ABC, CBS and Fox

Category: Self-Help

ISBN: 978-0692892510
Engagement Whisperer: a quieter and more collaborative approach to inspiring your team
by Tracy Stanley

While many things influence engagement at work, it isn't rocket science. This book demystifies the science and outlines a 'softly, softly' approach to lifting engagement within a team in 30 short chapters. Organisations are such noisy places that a quieter approach might just be the right 'cup of tea'.

The books is intended for managers in large organisations and draws heavily on the author’s academic research into what’s happening when people are highly engaged at work. The results are recommendations for managers’ behaviours and team processes. 

Honors: seen on NBC, ABC, CBS and Fox


Category: Business

ISBN: 978-0648189206
The Decline of Democratic Society in the New Age
by Giovanni Soriano

A deeply intellectual history of the present, this book outlines the historical events that have led the world into its current state of political, economic, psychological, societal and biological demise. By identifying and discussing tyranny in its modern forms, solutions are made evident or provided throughout the text.

Abounding with original ideas in every one of its 30 chapters, the book is a model of revolutionary thought and philosophical totality. It constitutes no less than a version of Plato's The Republic for the new century. Beyond this, the discourse possesses an unceasing intensity of tone found only in the purest of political tracts. Without doubt, Soriano’s book is an intellectual, political and historical necessity in this confused and disturbing period.

Every curious, educated citizen who wants to get an idea of where our democracy is going, and how we may influence its direction, will be interested in what Giovanni Soriano has to say. — Readers’ Favorite


Honors: seen on NBC, ABC, CBS and Fox

Category: History

ISBN: 978-1525516849

Arlington Anthology: Field Of Honor
by Ron MacDonald

Across the Potomac River from Washington D.C. lies Arlington National Cemetery. There some of America's finest, dating from as far back as the Revolutionary War to today, are buried. The cemetery contains graves of some 400,000 men and women — from famous people, including presidents, honored statesmen, explorers and literary figures, to the common soldier and sailor, along with 3,800 former slaves.

Their stories beg to be heard — stories of faith and courage against insurmountable odds; of love of brother and of country; and of sacrifice; stories of hopes and dreams and choices made during adversity. These stories are told as if they themselves were alive to tell their own stories.

Honors: seen on NBC, ABC, CBS and Fox

Category: History

ISBN: 978-1478769675
Raising Kids With Love, Honor and Respect: recipes for success
by Edie Jones

This book is the kind of manual that many parents would have liked to have had when their babies were born. Like the time-honored Betty Crocker cookbook, it is full of down-to-earth ideas to fall back on again and again. The book provides ideas and ‘recipes’ that help parents season their relationships with their children with unconditional love that always honors and respects each individual child.

Promoting the premise that there is no single right way to parent, it provides practical ways to apply those three basic principles with easy-to-follow techniques. It is a guidebook, organized so the reader can use the section most pertinent at a particular time, spanning years from birth into the young teens. Each chapter stands alone to use as needed. A cut-out section at the end makes it a practical go-to resource that allows posting, sharing and copying of the ‘recipes’ offered.

The book is written in an easy-to-understand manner, guiding parents as they nurture their children to thrive in the world.

Jones’s thoughtful layout of the book from infants, toddlers, behaviors, tweens, teens and more makes this book very easy to relate to as well as read. — Seattle Book Review

Honors: Gold Medal, Family/Parenting, Living Now Book Awards; Winner, Parenting & Family, Best Book Awards; Silver Medal, Parenting, Independent Book Publishers Awards; seen on NBC, ABC, CBS and Fox

Category: Health, Family & Lifestyle

ISBN: 978-1629012162
In case you missed the books featured in the last newsletter, here they are again:
Unrest: a coming-of-age story beneath the Alborz Mountains
by Sandra Ann Heath

This novel tells the story of 17-year-old Annie Patterson, plucked from her comfortable existence in the American Midwest to travel with her mom and siblings to join her lieutenant colonel father in Tehran, Iran. It’s the late 1970s and unbeknownst to the Patterson family, Iran is on the verge of phenomenal and unprecedented change. Initially, culture shock envelopes Annie as much as the black robes that cloak the people milling in the airport, or the pollution that hovers below the snowcapped peaks of the Alborz Mountains.

Cultural differences are soon embraced as the two Patterson sisters meet two Iranian teenaged boys at the side of a dusty soccer field. But as the saying goes: all is not fair in love and war, and the two sisters find themselves attracted to the same man. Soon, however, unrequited love becomes the least of Annie’s worries as the rumblings of dissent and unrest become too loud to ignore. Ultimately, the country unravels, the Shah's regime ends, and the Patterson family and their Iranian friends must figure out what to do next (Inshallah, God Willing), as all the while persecute, purge, pious becomes the order of the day.

Suspense and romance join cultural upheaval in Tehran to help capture a unique moment in world history. — Kirkus

Honors: Honorable Mention, Young Adult Fiction, Los Angeles Book Festival; seen on NBC, ABC, CBS and Fox

Category: Literature & Fiction

ISBN: 978-0996551717

Hellbound
by Chester D. Campbell

When a busload of seniors from a suburban Nashville church heads down the Natchez Trace on a carefree journey to the Big Easy, they are unaware that a Mafia hit squad is playing a deadly game of tag with them. All except one passenger.

The man they know as Bryce Reynolds is really Pat Pagano, a successful Las Vegas stockbroker, who was lured into handling investments for a New York crime family. After his two grown sons are killed in an attack by a rival gang and his wife succumbs to cancer, Pagano decimates the mob with his testimony in federal court. He disappears, then resurfaces in Nashville as Reynolds, a retired businessman from Oklahoma. But after years of searching, an old Mafia capo tracks Pagano to the church bus en route to New Orleans.


Honors: seen on NBC, ABC, CBS and Fox


Recognition for Author: Bloody Dagger Award, 2003; Silver Falchion Award, 2009

Category: Mystery & Thriller

ISBN: 
978-0986162206
Relocation without Dislocation: make new friends and keep the old 
(Book Two of the Travels and Adventures series)
by Ndeye Labadens

This book is an excellent and helpful guide that will provide readers not only with information regarding their moving needs, but also about the resources they need when it comes to moving and how to utilize these tools so that their relocation is a success. Relocating can be stressful and the author’s personal experiences have enabled her to share everything that is required from websites to links to online tools to make moving a pleasant experience.

This book is helpful for anyone who is relocating, whether as a student, a business owner, a professional or a homemaker. All the links and online tools make it easier for readers to get more information before they relocate to a new place without dislocating themselves. Readers can choose the links, websites, and online tools depending on their needs, and incorporate them while moving to a new place, city or country. The author provides a checklist of required personal items, and covers topics, such as travel documentation and carrying cash, to prepare the reader for the challenges of relocation. 

Honors: seen on NBC, ABC, CBS and Fox

Recognition for Author: Finalist, Travel, Readers’ Favorite Book Awards, 2017

Category: Travel

ISBN: 9781540695062

Ziggy Catches a Cold
(Book One of the Ziggy the Iggy series)

by Corinne Schmid

The first adventure in a book series about a little Italian greyhound puppy dog named Ziggy and his sister Twiggy. Fans of Scaredy Squirrel, Peppa Pig, Clifford the Big Red Dog or other cute animal children's books will gladly add Ziggy the Iggy to their list of favourite characters.

In this first story, Ziggy plays outside in the snow and catches a bad cold. Luckily, his sister Twiggy helps him get better and teaches him a valuable lesson.

Honors: seen on NBC, ABC, CBS and Fox

Category: Children’s

ISBN: 978-0994730619

Lamellia: The Wicked Queen 
(Book Two of the Lamellia series)
by Gloria D. Gonsalves

Can a human baby possibly be a mushroom?
When King Polipoli, the ruler of Lamellia, finds a human baby in his mushroom kingdom, he adopts it immediately to satisfy his wife's desire to be a mother. But when the baby mysteriously grows weaker and weaker under the queen's care, suspicions start to arise.

What is the queen doing to the baby? How did the baby get there? Will it survive and fulfil its purpose before it's too late?

This story helps children appreciate the importance of showing kindness, following the rules and understanding consequences.

First and foremost a beautiful metaphor of our world and of the acceptance or rejection of difference... the illustrations are magnificent and add to the beauty of this gem. — Readers’ Favorite

Honors: seen on NBC, ABC, CBS and Fox

Recognition for Author: Winner, Children’s Adventure, John E. Weaver Awards, 2017

Category: Children's

ISBN: 978-1546287667
We trust that your readers will enjoy our hand-picked selection.

For more bestselling and award-winning books from the independent publishing sector, please go here.

Warm regards,

Alinka Rutkowska
CEO, LibraryBub