Subject: Best indie books for this week

Here is this week's selection of recommended books from small and independent publishers.
LibraryBub Books September 14
The Success Initiative (Book One in the Project: Limitless series)
by R. J. Tolson

The motivational and inspirational 'Start Guide' to unleashing your potential, crumbling the boundaries around you, enhancing creativity, innovation, consciousness and thought, and achieving revolutionary success at any age or status of life is here! 24-year-old multilingual CEO, international charity founder, award-winning novelist, composer and lyricist R.J. Tolson's innate ability in consistently imagining and creating, combined with his knowledge and experience, deliver this self-help guide to developing practical success skills for life.

It doesn’t matter whether you're in education, politics, technical, professional or health fields; a small business, entrepreneurship or homemaker; teen, young adult or adult. If you seek happiness, greater self-esteem, personal success or self-improvement, or simply desire to enhance how you manage your business life, money, investing and personal finance, you don’t need to be a genius or have a massive amount of money to take your first step into the pool of true success. Drawing on his experience as a CEO of an international multi-divisional company, a successful novelist and international speaker, all of which he achieved before the age of 20, Tolson masterfully delivers how to plan and innovate, harness your latent potential, get ahead of the global competition, materialize your ambitions, make money, and more!

View trailer here.

Some of the tools that author R.J. Tolson provides in Project: Limitless, Volume 1 include proper planning and innovating through new processes that can better streamline your business. If you are able to plan and implement the right goals, then you will not only be able to make money, but you will also become successful in all you chose to accomplish in life. — Readers' Favorite

Honors: 2015 National Indie Excellence Non-Fiction Motivational Finalist; seen on NBC and CBS

Category: Self Help

ISBN: 978-0990329909

Born with Wings: the immortal life of Piu Piu (Book One in the Dance Between Worlds series)
by Bianca Gubalke

Have we lived before? This modern fairy tale explores the mystery of our connectedness — here and in the ethereal world.

Born with wings, yet, ironically, unable to fly and feeling abandoned, the brave heroine of this story transforms her life in her burning quest to belong.

Set in the mystical landscape of the Western Cape coast of South Africa — between Nature's paradise and a ruthless world — the touching, hilarious, wildly romantic human-animal relationships in this magical tale awaken a sense of mindfulness and guardianship for the Earth that will leave you inspired and longing for more.

Poignant, funny, and beautifully written, Bianca Gubalke’s debut novel of self-discovery, spiritual growth, and personal transformation amazes readers with its unique twist to the ‘fear to faith’ theme, and sparkles with witty animals that talk in the tradition of Jonathan Livingston Seagull and The Little Prince.

A brilliant 5 Star novel destined to brighten the Silver Screen as a
Classic Literary Creation!
— Reader's Favorite

Honors: seen on NBC and CBS

Category: Young Adult

ISBN: 978-0620714914


The Band 4: the air we breathe
by Marguerite Nardone Gruen

This is the story of Chase Martin who is a quarter of the biggest band on the planet. He is in turmoil because he wants to leave the band. Marguerite Angeli is on a holiday in London having just escaped turmoil in her own life — finally free from feeling hostage to her strict Italian parents.

She meets Chase by accident in a coffee shop in London.
This is their story about his life being on the road all the time while trying to keep his life at home as normal as he can.

It also has a supernatural twist to it. The couple can feel each other’s emotions — no matter how far away he is touring — and this creates an unbreakable bond between them.


A whimsical, if unbelievable, romantic fantasy about a celebrity couple. — Kirkus

Honors: seen on NBC and CBS

Category: Literature & Fiction

ISBN: 978-1460283547

Kings of Memphis: Elvis and Tutankhamen
by Carolyn Reynolds

Kings of Memphis is a strange and truly wondrous trip that begins 3,400 years ago when Tutankhamen was king.

The facts are carefully researched in this 60,000-word novel of two kings and the worlds that loved them.

Kings of Memphis
begins when ancient, detailed and exacting instructions of Tut’s carpenters were inadvertently reversed. The doors of King Tut’s shrine should have opened to the west so he could emerge and walk directly into the afterlife. Instead, on February 16, 1923 the doors opened to the east and the unthinkable happened. The shadowy young Pharaoh Tutankhamen began his walk not into the other world but rather this world.

In 1923 the famous Curse of Tutankhamen was unleashed until 1935 when the misfortunes appeared to have stopped, the year the new King of Memphis, Elvis Presley, was born.

Honors: Amazon Best Seller; seen on NBC and CBS

Category: Science Fiction & Fantasy

ISBN: 978-1456591038

A More Prosperous Planet: the new formula for a prosperous global economy
by Felipe Tudela

If you have ever asked yourself why some countries are wealthier than others, you’ll find the final answer in A More Prosperous Planet. This book explains the simple formula along with the three vital elements that must be present for a nation to become wealthy, and why they must also be present for you to attain prosperity.

The result is an eye-opening discovery that creates a profound understanding of the meaning of freedom, the current conditions of societies, and the path to more enlightened and robust economies.


Honors: Amazon #1 Best Seller; seen on NBC and CBS

Category: Business

ISBN: 978-0692804452

In case you missed the books featured in the last newsletter, here they are again:
Elsewhen
by Gary Bullock

Laura Elizabeth Austin grows up in a small farming town in Kansas. Already a genius at age 8, she and equally bright Elijah Lucas Grant are very different from other kids, but Laura and Elijah have each other.

Fascinated with science, they seriously discuss the big cosmological questions – the nature of time, black holes, the origin and the destiny of the universe, so the two little prodigies become soul-mates.

At the age of 12, on a bicycle ride together, they have their first kiss while debating the nature of time. (Laura claims it doesn’t exist. She may be right.)

They are also troubled by strange visions. Laura sees people who aren’t there. She thinks they are ghosts, but comes to realize that they exist in another universe. She discovers that she can actually step into an alternate universe.

Elijah sees flashes of events that haven’t happened – yet. But he learns to develop this into an unerring sense of the future. As the Red Queen says, “It’s a poor memory that only works backwards.”

They soon learn the future isn’t what it used to be. Neither is the past. But in the eternal present, they have each other, for now.

Bullock's intriguing story combines elements of science-fiction, romance, and suspense. [...] A focused, fast-paced journey between alternate universes. — Kirkus

Honors: seen on NBC and CBS

Category: Science Fiction & Fantasy

ISBN: 978-1458203953

Why They Stay: sex scandals, deals, and hidden agendas of nine political wives
by Anne Michaud

This work of literary nonfiction explores the reasoning and motivation of wives who stay with their politician-husbands after they cheat. Why They Stay offers deeply intuitive, exactingly researched profiles of Eleanor Roosevelt, Jackie Kennedy, Valerie Hobson, Marion Stein, Hillary Clinton, Silda Spitzer, Wendy Vitter, Gila Katsav and Huma Abedin. Looking back on the path chosen by these political wives, we have the evidence to see a pattern as old as the dynastic maneuverings of England's medieval queens.

The women married to the 'royalty' of our times, politicians, make similar cold calculations in order to hold onto their 'thrones' and their family's history-making potential.

It's about time that a book such as Why They Stay should appear to comment on the wives of politicians and why they remain in place despite reports of infidelity and bad behaviors. Not only does this apply to the highest political offices past and present, but its message and analysis will reach many a marriage where friends may wonder about the reasons why a wife stays in the home after misconduct is uncovered. It's a gripping production especially recommended for any interested in women's issues and political scandals and their aftermath. — D. Donovan for Midwest Book Review

Honors: seen on NBC, CBS and Fox

Category: Biography

ISBN: 978-0997663310
How to Help Someone with Cancer
by Shannon Benish

A loved one was recently diagnosed with cancer and you aren't sure the best way to help. Surely there’s something you can do besides bringing a frozen dinner?

This book will be your guide to practical ways you can help a cancer patient as they are progressing through treatment. You may feel you don’t have the time, energy or resources to be of much help, but these 70 recommendations will provide affordable and manageable suggestions to help form your action plan.

Honors: 11th Annual National Indie Excellence Awards Finalist; Amazon Best Seller; seen on NBC and CBS

Category: Health & Fitness

ISBN: 978-0998422800

Halloween with Snowman Paul
by Yossi Lapid

If you are looking for the perfect book to capture the spirit and atmosphere of Halloween with your little ones, you found it!

In this sixth volume of Yossi Lapid’s award-winning picture book series (each beautifully illustrated by Joanna Pasek), Dan and Snowman Paul have a Halloween tree-house party, wearing costumes, telling stories, singing songs and getting themselves deliciously spooked. Aliens, witches, dragons and ghosts abound and dire warning signs are everywhere. But will they stop eager visitors from advancing?

Offering a fine-tuned blend of mild suspense and reassuring humor, this holiday-themed picture book will transport your children into a dreamworld where they can safely experience Halloween their own way. The story line encourages children to push past their fears on this spookily entertaining day. The book is perfect for a traditional Halloween night bedtime story to be enjoyed by the entire family. With catchy rhymes and simple vocabulary, the book is also ideal for beginner readers.

Want to experience fabulous and spooky fun? Join Dan and Snowman Paul in this imaginative and whimsical Halloween adventure.

Honors: Award-winning book series; Readers' Favorite five stars; seen on NBC and CBS

Category: Children's

ISBN: 978-0997389913

Author Gator: Don't Judge a Book by its Cover
by Josh Benya

Author Gator teaches kids not to judge others by their appearance. By using his creativity and his friend Bandit Raccoon's help, Author figures a way to be seen for the individual and storyteller he is within. Then a friendly librarian offers him an opportunity that could change his life forever. Will Author take it?

On Author Gator’s first adventure, you can discover that even though some people may look different or have disabilities, it doesn’t mean we should bully them or shut them out from our lives. They may have an incredible gift to share with the world. As Author says, “You shouldn’t judge a book by its cover.”


Honors: Amazon Best Seller; seen on ABC and Fox

Category: Children's

ISBN: 978-0692868577
We trust that your readers will enjoy our hand-picked selection.

Warm regards,

Alinka Rutkowska
CEO, LibraryBub